eMobility Public Charging Study

The results of the UScale Public Charging Study provide information about the usage behaviour and criteria of (semi-) public charging infrastructure. The study is based on a survey of over 1,800 EV drivers.

eMobility public charging study on the use of (semi-)public charging infrastructure

Feedback from over 1,800 EV drivers provides a comprehensive insight into the charging profiles, habits and problems of today’s female EV users. The study contains detailed information about the charging profiles of today’s users and enables a unique and in-depth customer understanding.

The results allow conclusions to be drawn about the relevance of (semi-)public charging services and show providers the need for optimisation and further services.

Study content

  • Charging locations and habits
  • Route planning
  • Charging problems
  • Payment and pricing
  • Expansion of charging infrastructure
  • Charging at work

Structure of the Public Charging Study

For each topic, the users were asked about their usage habits, problems with usage and satisfaction. With regard to their charging behaviour, the study participants were asked what criteria they use to decide where to charge (differentiated by usage situation). In addition, the respondents were given the opportunity to communicate their wishes and suggestions for additional services during the charging process in and out of town.

Finally, the participants were asked to make recommendations to manufacturers and providers and to share their assessment of the expansion of the (semi-)public charging infrastructure. The survey contained numerous free text fields, which the respondents also made use of. Thus, more than 7,500 detailed mentions provide very detailed information about where the problems lie and what providers and manufacturers should work on as a priority.

Target group of the public charging study

Only EV drivers who at least occasionally charge (semi-)publicly were recruited. The data collected allows a differentiation according to charging profiles or charging options at home and/or at the employer. Among the respondents, there are more experienced e-car drivers with several years of charging experience as well as young EV owners.

Added value and benefits of the public charging study for …

Manufacturers and operators of charging infrastructure

The study shows manufacturers and operators of charging technology how users charge and what problems they encounter. Together with the aforementioned expansion needs, this helps in the development of new products, the prioritisation of features and the definition of customer benefit criteria.

eMSPs

The survey reveals the problems and potentials for service providers to retain customers in their own offerings. To this end, the analysis helps in the development of pricing models for the future.

Municipalities and funding bodies

The experiences of today’s female EV drivers show municipalities, neighbourhood developers and funding bodies which services need to be developed and installed with particular urgency.

Retail and hotel industry

For providers of semi-public charging infrastructure, the results clearly show the enormous potential for customer loyalty and increased sales that charging offers.

Employers

The study shows which requirements have to be fulfilled so that charging offers are perceived as helpful for employees and generate the desired employee loyalty.

Other service providers

The study shows what other service needs EV drivers have during public charging in and out of town.

UScale focus studies: User studies on electromobility

Since 2018, UScale has been systematically questioning e-car drivers about their expectations and experiences at all touchpoints of the e-mobile customer journey. For more information on the UScale focus studies, please see HERE.

More information on the results of the Public Charging study can be found HERE.

If you have any questions, please contact us at contact@uscale.digital.

eMobility Public Charging-Studie

Die Ergebnisse der UScale Public-Charging-Studie geben Aufschluss über das Nutzungsverhalten und -kriterien von (halb-) öffentlicher Ladeinfrastruktur. Basis der Studie ist eine Befragung von über 1.800 eAuto-Fahrern und -Fahrerinnen.

eMobility Public-Charging-Studie zur Nutzung von (halb-)öffentlicher Ladeinfrastruktur

Rückmeldungen von über 1.800 eAuto-Fahrern bieten einen umfassenden Einblick in die Ladeprofile, -gewohnheiten und -probleme heutiger eFahrzeug-Nutzerinnen. Die Studie enthält detaillierte Informationen über die Ladeprofile heutiger Nutzer und ermöglicht ein einzigartiges und tiefgreifendes Kundenverständnis.

Die Ergebnisse lassen Rückschlüsse auf die Relevanz (halb-)öffentlicher Ladeangebote zu und zeigen Anbietern Optimierungs- und weitere Service-Bedarfe auf.

Studieninhalte

  • Ladeorte- und gewohnheiten
  • Routenplanung
  • Ladeprobleme
  • Bezahlen und Preisgestaltung
  • Ausbau Ladeinfrastruktur
  • Arbeitgeberladen

Aufbau der Public-Charging-Studie

Zu jedem Thema wurden die Nutzerinnen nach ihren Nutzungsgewohnheiten, Problemen bei der Nutzung und Zufriedenheit befragt. In Bezug auf ihr Ladeverhalten wurden die Studienteilnehmer gefragt, nach welchen Kriterien sie entscheiden, wo sie laden (differenziert nach Nutzungssituation). Außerdem haben die Befragten die Möglichkeit bekommen, ihre Wünsche und Vorschläge für zusätzliche Services während des Ladevorgangs inner- und außerorts mitzuteilen.

Abschließend wurden die Teilnehmerinnen gebeten, Empfehlungen an Hersteller und Anbieter zu machen und ihre Einschätzung zum Ausbau der (halb-)öffentlichen Ladeinfrastruktur zu teilen. Die Befragung enthielt zahlreiche Freitextfelder, von denen die Befragten auch Gebrauch machten. So geben über 7.500 ausführliche Nennungen sehr detailliert Aufschluss darüber, wo die Probleme liegen und woran Anbieter und Hersteller vorrangig arbeiten sollten.

Zielgruppe der Public-Charging-Studie

Rekrutiert wurden ausschließlich eAuto-Fahrer, die zumindest gelegentlich (halb-)öffentlich laden. Die erhobenen Daten ermöglichen eine Differenzierung nach Ladeprofilen bzw. Lademöglichkeiten zuhause und/oder beim Arbeitgeber. Unter den Befragten finden sich sowohl mehr erprobte eAuto-Fahrerinnen mit mehrjähriger Ladeerfahrung als auch junge EV-Besitzer.

Mehrwert und Nutzen der Public-Charging-Studie für …

Hersteller und Betreiber von Ladeinfrastruktur

Die Studie zeigt Herstellern und Betreibern von Ladetechnik, wie Nutzer laden und welche Probleme sie dabei haben. Zusammen mit den genannten Ausbaubedarfen hilft dies bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte, der Priorisierung von Features und der Definition der Kunden-Nutzen-Kriterien.

eMSPs

Die Befragung offenbart die Probleme und Potenziale für Service-Provider zur Kundenbindung an die eigenen Angebote. Dazu hilft die Analyse bei der Entwicklung von Preismodellen für die Zukunft. 

Kommunen und Fördergeber

Die Erfahrungen heutiger eAuto-Fahrerinnen zeigen Kommunen, Quartiersentwicklern und Fördergebern, welche Angebote mit besonderer Dringlichkeit entwickelt und installiert werden müssen. 

Einzelhandel und Hotellerie

Anbietern halböffentlicher Ladeinfrastruktur zeigen die Ergebnisse deutlich, welches enorme Potenzial zur Kundenbindung und Umsatzsteigerung in Ladeangeboten liegt. 

Arbeitgeber

Die Studie zeigt, welche Anforderungen erfüllt werden müssen, damit Ladeangebote für Mitarbeitende als hilfreich wahrgenommen werden und die gewünschte Mitarbeiterbindung erzeugen. 

Sonstige Dienstleister

Die Studie zeigt, welche weiteren Service-Bedarfe eAuto-Fahrer während des öffentlichen Ladens inner- und außerorts haben. 

UScale Fokusstudien: Nutzerstudien zur Elektromobilität

Seit 2018 befragt UScale systematisch e-Auto-Fahrerinnen und Fahrer zu ihren Erwartungen und Erfahrungen an sämtlichen Touchpoints der e-mobilen Customer Journey. Weitere Informationen zu den UScale-Fokusstudien finden Sie HIER.

Weitere Informationen zu den Ergebnissen der Public Charging-Studie finden Sie HIER.

Bei Fragen kontaktieren Sie uns gerne unter kontakt@uscale.digital.